Tedford named MW Coach of the Year

FILE - A new conference to officially introduce the new head coach is expected on Friday | PHOTO: Fox26

The Mountain West Conference announced its 2017 All-Conference football teams and individual award winners on Wednesday.

The winners were chosen by the 12 head football coaches and a select media panel.

Fresno State Bulldogs head football coach, Jeff Tedford, was named Mountain West Coach of the Year.

The Bulldogs were just 1-11 in 2016 and improved in 2017 to a Top 25 ranking with a a record of 9-3, 7-1 in the conference. Fresno State also clinched its first MW West Division title since 2014, clinching its spot in the 2017 MW Championship game against Boise State on Saturday, December 2nd.

Coach Tedford is Fresno State's first conference coach of the year since Jim Sweeney in 1991.

Fresno State also picked up 16 individual MWC honors:

First Team All-Mountain West Defence:

Fresno State sophomore linebacker Jeffrey Allison

All-Mountain West Second Team:

  • Junior KeeSean Johnson (WR)
  • Senior Aaron Mitchell (OL)
  • Senior Jimmy Camacho (PK)

All-Mountain West Honorable Mention:

  • Sophohmore Mike Bell (DB)
  • Sophomore Jaron Bryant (DB)
  • Junior Christian Cronk (OL)
  • Senior Malik Forrester (DL)
  • Junior George Helmuth (LB)
  • Sophomore Juju Hughes (DB)
  • Junior Marcus McMaryion (QB)
  • Freshman Netane Muti (OL)
  • Senior David Patterson (OL)
  • Junior Michah St. Andrew (OL)
  • Senior Robert Stanley (DL)

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off