'Dogs Dominate Mountain West Awards

The Mountain West Conference announced its 2012 post season awards Tuesday, and Fresno State was the big winner.

Senior safety Phillip Thomas was named Defensive Player of the Year, Junior quarterback Derek Carr is the Offensive Player of the Year, and receiver Davante Adams earned Freshman of the Year.

San Diego State's Rocky Long was named Coach of the Year over Tim DeRuyter, preventing Fresno State from sweeping{}all four major awards.

The Bulldogs had seven first-team all-conference selections with Robbie Rouse, Austin Wentworth, Tyeler Davison and Derron Smith joining Thomas, Carr and Adams.

Travis Brown and Andy Jennings were voted to the second team, with four other Fresno State players listed as honorable mention.

The Mountain West Conference champion Bulldogs face SMU in the Hawaii Bowl on Christmas Eve.